Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 55

Thread: Concealed Firearms Permit

  1. #1

    Concealed Firearms Permit

    Here's a good deal. $20 for a 4-Hour Concealed Firearms Permit Class with Passport & Fingerprint Card

    http://www.ksl.com/public/deal/show/...616.602.141802

    Details
    This is a fun and interactive class, with participation encouraged. It is a one day, four-hour course, which is required in order to apply for your Utah Concealed Firearms Permit. It is taught by an active police officer Dan Willoughby, NRA Certified, and BCI certified instructor who covers state laws and safety practices along with the proper way to handle revolvers and semiautomatic pistols and their ammunition.

    Offer includes:
    One day, 4-hour Basic Pistol Course which includes:
    Application
    Fingerprint Card
    Passport Photo

    Restrictions
    Advanced registration required.
    Expires May 31, 2013
    May purchase as many vouchers as needed. May buy additional as gifts.
    Only people 21 or older can apply for a Concealed Weapons Permit, however, younger people are welcome to come to the class to observe for no charge.
    Purchased voucher is valid starting December 5, 2012
    Purchased voucher expires on May 31, 2013

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many
     

  3. #2
    "Advanced registration required" - Does that mean you're required to register for an advanced course beyond this basic one?
    Office Spacing
    verb

    When a worker in a menial, white collar job simply skips a day (or several) without explanation to his boss or coworkers.



  4. #3

    Re: Concealed Firearms Permit

    No, that means you make a reservation to take a class at a future date.

    The class is good for anyone to take. You will learn at lot even if you don't plan to carry. Much of the class covers your rights to defend your self, home and family. It also covers what not to do. $20 is the cost of a movie, and the class is at least as entertaining.

    Sent using Tapatalk

  5. #4
    i just applied for my ccw in arizona, in early nov. turns out i did not need to take a class at all. they accepted my hunter safety course that i did in 1981 as good enough to meet the requirements. application was only $60. now to wait the 60 days.
    But if I agreed with you, we would both be wrong.

  6. #5
    Bogley BigShot oldno7's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    We're all here, because we ain't all there.
    Posts
    10,996
    Quote Originally Posted by denaliguide View Post
    i just applied for my ccw in arizona, in early nov. turns out i did not need to take a class at all. they accepted my hunter safety course that i did in 1981 as good enough to meet the requirements. application was only $60. now to wait the 60 days.
    I believe Az CC is good in several states that don't honor Utah's, NV and NM come to mind...
    I'm not Spartacus


    Boycotting imlay canyon gear because I value access

    Professional Mangler of Grammar

    Guns don't kill people--Static Ropes Do!!

    Who Is John Galt?

  7. #6

  8. #7
    I must be mistaken or you are. I bought my first handgun today. A Sprinfield 9mm XD. The guy at the counter told me that AZ did away with CCP. You don't need one to pack heat here in Arizona.

  9. #8
    if you are an in state resident of arizona you do not need a permit to carry concealed in arizona. if you want to carry concealed outside of state of arizona then you need the arizona ccw permit to carry in states with reciprocity. open carry is legal for residents and non-residents. the law in alaska is the same. i am an alaska resident, applied for my arizona ccw and had it sent to colorado (it came today actually!!. 30 days to the day).
    But if I agreed with you, we would both be wrong.

  10. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Reedus View Post
    I must be mistaken or you are. I bought my first handgun today. A Sprinfield 9mm XD. The guy at the counter told me that AZ did away with CCP. You don't need one to pack heat here in Arizona.
    Welcome to the first handgun club. Got mine just 3 days ago.
    Office Spacing
    verb

    When a worker in a menial, white collar job simply skips a day (or several) without explanation to his boss or coworkers.



  11. #10
    I maintain a Utah CCP even though I'm a WA state resident. At the time I moved up here, the WA permit wasn't reciprocated as well as the Utah one is.

  12. #11
    Wilderness Photographer cchoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Land of Grits and Gravy
    Posts
    354
    I have a GA CCP and all that's required is a background check and a fee, no training class. I wish they did require a class, but in GA you can carry in a vehicle glovebox or console without a permit - so if you just want to do drive by's you're all set.
    Charlie...
    Stalking Light

  13. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by cchoc View Post
    ...but in GA you can carry in a vehicle glovebox or console without a permit - so if you just want to do drive by's you're all set.
    Same in Utah, I think?

  14. #13
    Carrying in Vehicles

    A person may not carry a loaded weapon in a vehicle unless they have a valid permit to carry or:

    • They are at least 18 years old and
    • Has lawful possession of the vehicle or consent of the person who has lawful possession of the vehicle and
    • The weapon is not a rifle, shotgun or muzzle-loading rifle

    It is lawful for a person with a concealed firearms permit to carry a firearm into a bus terminal.
    It is lawful for a person with a concealed firearm permit to board a bus or a train or enter a terminal with a firearm upon their person or effects. This also applies to law enforcement officers or commercial security personnel with firearms used in their employment.
    Laws governing the use of concealed firearms differ from state to state. It is important to understand the laws to ensure that your actions are in compliance with Utah law.
    Sources: 53-5-704 Division duties - Utah Code

  15. #14
    [QUOTE=Brian in SLC;519687]Carrying in Vehicles

    A person may not carry a loaded weapon in a vehicle unless they have a valid permit to carry or:

    • They are at least 18 years old and
    • Has lawful possession of the vehicle or consent of the person who has lawful possession of the vehicle and
    • The weapon is not a rifle, shotgun or muzzle-loading rifle

    It is lawful for a person with a concealed firearms permit to carry a firearm into a bus terminal.
    It is lawful for a person with a concealed firearm permit to board a bus or a train or enter a terminal with a firearm upon their person or effects. This also applies to law enforcement officers or commercial security personnel with firearms used in their employment.
    Laws governing the use of concealed firearms differ from state to state. It is important to understand the laws to ensure that your actions are in compliance with Utah law.
    Sources: 53-5-704 Division duties - Utah Code
    Office Spacing
    verb

    When a worker in a menial, white collar job simply skips a day (or several) without explanation to his boss or coworkers.



  16. #15
    That is a good deal. I forwarded it to a few friends. For what it's worth, I have been pulled over for speeding 3 times in the last 7 years, only received warnings. I believe this was in part because I have a permit.
    Let's Roll

  17. #16
    $20 is a good deal for the class. Most courses I've seen offered are anywhere from $35-60 for the same 4 hour block, fingerprints, photo, etc. Glad to see the price in a more affordable range.

  18. #17
    Here is anther good deal on obtaining a Utah Concealed Carry Permit.

    Groupon Utah CCP

    The cost is only $20.

  19. #18
    I'm in New York City and I don't have a gun. This sucks!
    "Always look at the bright side of life"

  20. #19
    JSYK -- if you want to register for this class you'd better do it ASAP. The seats fill up fast. I registered for the class back the first week of December and the next available class was the 3rd week of February....and that was before the Newton fiasco.
    Office Spacing
    verb

    When a worker in a menial, white collar job simply skips a day (or several) without explanation to his boss or coworkers.



  21. #20

    Re: Concealed Firearms Permit

    The CCP class is worthwhile, even if you have no intention of carrying. It's good to just know and understand your rights and the law. It's certainly worth the $20 just for the entertainment value.

    Sent using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Concealed Firearms Class for Utah $25.00 Salt Lake Area April 11
    By MY T PIMP in forum Hunting & Shooting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-26-2012, 02:24 PM
  2. Concealed Firearm Permit
    By RugerShooter in forum Hunting & Shooting
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-12-2009, 05:50 PM
  3. Utah's concealed-weapons permit under scrutiny
    By jumar in forum Hunting & Shooting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-19-2008, 01:02 PM
  4. Local Firearms Training
    By jumar in forum Hunting & Shooting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-23-2008, 09:07 AM
  5. concealed weapons permit.
    By BrainDamage in forum Hunting & Shooting
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-23-2006, 01:24 PM

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Outdoor Forum

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •