Thread: Canyon progression - looking for my next few slots

Canyon progression - looking for my next few slots

Hello!

I live in the UK, but am looking at heading to the US this summer to tackle a few more slot canyons with a friend that lives out in Cali. In the past we've done the following:

Trip 1: Round Valley Draw (with a small handline), Zebra, Tunnel, Spooky, Peekaboo
    Trip 2: Diana's Throne Canyon, Subway, Keyhole
    Trip 3: Benson Creek, Birch Hollow, Egypt 3, Goblin Valley, Tenaya Canyon (Yosemite)

Anyone have any suggestions as to what might be a good next step in terms of canyons? I've been looking at Pine Creek, Mystery Canyon, Das Boot and also potentially a few of the slot canyons in the Grand Canyon (although there seems to be a lot less beta and discussion on Arizona canyons versus Utah canyons).

My friend and I have zero experience in terms of keeper potholes, for instance, but perhaps there's a few canyons where gentle partner assists suffice (we're miles off anything like potshots, etc).

Anyways, any suggestions on what might be good next steps up in terms of canyon progression would be v much appreciated!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Any thoughts, anyone?

I figured Das Boot would be a bit of a step up from Subway, while Pine and Mystery are both a bit of a step up from Keyhole/Birch. But I'm still looking out for a few more canyons - maybe max raps around the 150-200 mark, but not anything that involves anything like dead man anchors, etc.

Also keen just to see some of the most spectacular canyons, irrespective of whether they're not really a step up - only get 2 weeks in the US each year so keen to take advantage as much as possible!

Blog Entries
    If you can get a permit for Mystery, then I would suggest that since they are very hard to come by and packs a punch of variety in like 5-6miles.

Das Boot is a little challenging but I wouldn’t call it a destination, and more of an add-on if you are already doing the Subway.