Thread: pull cords - 6mm vs 550 paracord?

pull cords - 6mm vs 550 paracord?

Let's talk pull cords. I'm relatively new at this so I'm still learning. I can buy 200' of 550 paracord for $22.99 at http://www.paracordplanet.com or I can buy 200' of 6mm cord for $79.95 at http://www.store.canyoneeringusa.com.

I want to do things the right way, but why would I pay $57 more dollars for the 6 mil? How is this "better"? Besides saving money, the 550 weighs less too.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Sometimes while pulling over edges, the pull cord will take a bit of a beating just as a rope would. It needs to have at least some degree of ability to survive this beating and pull down your rope. Just a thought.

I want the ability to rappel on my pull chord in an emergency. I've rappeled on 6mm before, but no way would I chance 550 paracord.

In additiom 550 is too stretchy for my tastes. It's like having a rubber band attached to your rope and that can make getting your ropes to pull a real problem.

YMMV

5. Likes summitseeker, moab mark, dougrz, Scott P liked this post
    Content Provider Emeritus ratagonia's Avatar
    I find myself using pull cord less and less, these days. Only in very specific instances, where it has big benefits. It is a good technique to know, to understand and to use occasionally, but put me in the crowd that thinks pull cords are over-used. I prefer inviting a youth along who is strong enough to carry all the rope. And carrying real rope. So much more useful.

Perhaps the biggest exception is when using advanced techniques like FiddleSticking, but again, these are only used on certain KINDS of canyons, and not popular / traderoute canyons (mostly).