Thread: Toilet options on Lake Powell

Toilet options on Lake Powell

We are planning to head out for some camping on Lake Powell this July, and will be taking a small 18' powerboat for the trip. I know we need some form of waste disposal equipment (I have been eyeing a porta-john on Amazon with separate water tank and waste tank), but since I have never used this kind of device before, much less on Lake Powell, I had a few questions.
    I know I will need to dump it out, and I know there are a few floating toilets around the lake. Do these facilities have a method for easy dumping of this waste? The porta john has a detachable cartridge that has a large tube that extends for drainage. But I also need to rinse it out; not sure if that exists at these locations. I have hooked a houseboat up to it to dump before, but this is a first for me.
    Do the porta johns need chemicals to assist with breakdown and odor?
    Funny, this to me is the most serious logistical issue I am having with this little jaunt...lol. Food and water and camping gear for our small group is nothing compared to figuring out how to lug our poo around...lol.
    Mountain guy trapped in the wetlands of Florida.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Watch your outboard's prop - I nailed mine on the first day out! We had to return to marina that evg - they replaced it the next morning - free labor but $20 for cheapo aluminum part.

We always carried the mandatory facilities, ours consisted of a 5 gallon bucket, seat and liner. After many days on the lake it was never used for anything but storing seldom used items. What we did do is find a campsite within 5 minutes of the very nice and sanitary floating johns. We were usually on the water headed somewhere fun in the mornings anyhow when mother nature started calling and the floating johns were always conveniently located.