Thread: Wetsuit Recommendations

Wetsuit Recommendations

I am looking to buy my first wetsuit in the next few weeks and am at a loss on what to get. I plan to use it for going through basic canyons during the spring through fall months. I am just a beginner so I do not plan on going through any major canyons. When looking at websites like the TommyDSports site I get overwhelmed in the options. Do you recommend the traditional full suit or should I go with the Farmer John style or a shorty style. I don't get cold very easily so am wondering is it best to go with 3mm or 5mm? I would assume that 7mm would probably not be needed.

Thanks

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

You want a full wetsuit. The wetsuit I use 90% of the time is a full 3mm, and I have at least one of every wetsuit you can think of.

I like rear zip wetsuits for everything but canyoneering, where I prefer a front zip so I can unzip it and cool off on long walks between potholes.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Iceaxe View Post
    You want a full wetsuit. The wetsuit I use 90% of the time is a full 3mm, and I have at least one of every wetsuit you can think of.

I like rear zip wetsuits for everything but canyoneering, where I prefer a front zip so I can unzip it and cool off on long walks between potholes.
    X2
    I do the exact same thing.

My go to is typically the 3mm full wetsuit for nearly everything from April to October. Summer has the shorties like for the subway and other Zion canyons. But really though, being warmer and comfortable is worth the weight plus as well as making the trip much, much more enjoyable.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    ●Canyoneering 'Canyon Conditions' @ www.candition.com
    ●Hiking Treks (my younger brother's website): hiking guides @ www.thetrekplanner.com
    "He who walks on the edge...will eventually fall."
    "There are two ways to die in the desert - dehydration and drowning." -overhearing a Park Ranger at Capitol Reef N.P.