Thread: Advice for a visiting Aussie - What region should I visit? (In UT/AZ)

Advice for a visiting Aussie - What region should I visit? (In UT/AZ)

Hey!

So it looks like I'll be in the US for most of September. I'll be doing a bunch of rock climbing but I'm thinking of fitting some canyoneering into the trip too. A couple of days of canyons would suit me. So where is best to visit?

Most of my canyoneering experience is in the Blue Mountains, Australia. I've done wet/dry canyons and I'm a very experienced rappeller. Though I have no experience with the more technical types of things like potholes and no trace anchors. I want to do some fun cayonings with some decent sized rappels but I have no intention of doing highly technical canyons.

So does anybody have any recommendations on regions to look at or even specific canyons? I'll probably be flying into Vegas before I hit the canyons so I'll be driving out from there to Utah or Arizona.

Thanks! :-)

For those who are curious here are google images of Blue Mountains Canyoneering

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

In my opinion, the Escalante river region and Zion are the most beautiful areas in the canyon country, but Zion has a fair amount of red tape and camping is much more restricted in that area than in most of the rest of canyon country. For that reason, Escalante is my favorite (even though I still like Zion a lot). Some canyons in the Escalante are really hard, but there are plenty of moderate ones too.

The area around Navajo Mountain is also very scenic as well, but you have to have a Navajo permit.

The Robbers Roost area is pretty good too.
    Utah is a very special and unique place. There is no where else like it on earth. Please take care of it and keep the remaining wild areas in pristine condition. The world will be a better place if you do.

4. Likes patto liked this post