Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Confederate Battle Flag

Confederate Battle Flag

The Confederate Flag thing seems to be getting out of control. The flag is absolutely a point of pride for Southerners who have an attachment to the Civil War. It is also a point of pride for redneck racist douchebags. But the great thing about this country is that you can be redneck racist douchebag (of any color) and not go to jail for it.

I don't think the flag should get taken down over government buildings. This country is supposed to be about freedom, even if it is freedom you find distasteful. The confederate flag is not a nazi flags, it has many more meanings than slavery.

The ten commandments however have no business being on government grounds in front of a courtroom. Separation of church and state.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

This looks like a troll thread to me... jk.

I've been visiting the USA for over 30 years now, and I have never seen in the US the separation between State, Religion and Politics that one sees in post-war Europe. The three are intertwined in the US culture in an unnatural way, and I'm not sure that as a State, you have benefited from it.

I mean no disrespect in the above; just my observation.

Rob

5. Likes DiscGo, hank moon, Absolute Gravity liked this post
    Quote Originally Posted by Iceaxe View Post
    The confederate flag is not a nazi flags, it has many more meanings
    As does the swastika... so I'm going with troll thread also.

7. Likes ratagonia liked this post
    Yeah, you're right.... The Confederate Flag killed those 9 people in Charleston.

The problem of communication by symbol is you're not in control of how others interpret that symbol. Knowing your chosen symbol is offensive to a particular group and you choose to use it anyway is your choice. But it's one that shows sloppy communication and disregard for others.