Thread: New to Southern Utah

New to Southern Utah

Hello everyone,
    I am new to Southern Utah and am looking for a few different backpacking trips that I can take. I am interested in a quick 1 night backpacking trip that I can do with my son to introduce him to backpacking. I prefer BLM land as to not pay any fees or get permits but am open to anything. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

It really depends on the season for me.

Coyote Gulch down to Jacob Hamblin arch is a good hike. Lots of springs. This is in the Glen Canyon Recreation area, but no fees to access
    Name:  10359537_10204315058869137_7204733612651326724_n.jpg
Views: 339
Size:  79.2 KB

Hop Valley in Zion is another great hike. Over night camping will require a Park permit, But a day hike in and out won't
    Name:  IMG_2211.jpg
Views: 306
Size:  64.6 KB

Several great trails around the Bruce Area that are outside the park. Mostly FS or BLM . Under the rim trail, Losee, Casto, or for that matter just wander around on the Paunsaugunt Plateau. Lots of dirt roads to get you back away from the crowds
    Name:  Bryce3 249.JPG
Views: 337
Size:  112.5 KB

Once the snow melt is gone. You can get up on the Aquarius Plateau. There is a good trail down from Jacobs Reservoir to the old Jubilee Ranger cabin. The cabin is no longer used, Make a pretty hike with some old history at the cabin.
    [IMG][/IMG]

4. Likes oldno7, shyjonny, jman liked this post
    Blog Entries
    Welcome!

It depends - how far are you willing to travel?
    ●Canyoneering 'Canyon Conditions' @ www.candition.com
    ●Hiking Treks (my younger brother's website): hiking guides @ www.thetrekplanner.com
    "He who walks on the edge...will eventually fall."
    "There are two ways to die in the desert - dehydration and drowning." -overhearing a Park Ranger at Capitol Reef N.P.