Thread: Canyon Videos

Canyon Videos

I bought a GoPro 3 Black the other day hoping I can get some good canyoneering videos out of it. I'm a GoPro newbie and I've seen some awesome videos come from some of you Bogleyites so I was hoping to get some pointer. Like what settings do you use? What mounting hardware works best? Is low light a problem? What editing software is easiest to use? I'm hoping to skip some beginner frustrations.
    Thanks ahead of time.
    Devin

2. Likes Canyonbug liked this post
  3. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Skip the headache of learning the fancy software and just use Windows Live Movie Maker. It's what I still use with all of my footage.

I would say simplify your GoPro life and just keep it in 1080 mode, Your time should be spent getting great angles rather than messing around with camera settings.

We've got a GoPro Forum that might provide some tips for you.
    http://www.bogley.com/forum/forumdis...22-GoPro-Forum

Good luck and post up your results!

I agree with @Sombeech on his thoughts. I'd add, when editing, don't drag it out. Make shorter clips of scenes, not the whole stinkin rappel, and we don't need to see everyone in the entire group rappel the same spot. Mix it up, make it fast and keep it under 5 min for a final edit.

Mounts, I use a helmet mount 100% of the time. Just remember you are filming so no quick movements of your head, keep it steady, take some practice. I am thinking about using a pole more now so I can stretch it out over some drops and watch rappels from the top further out. I've seen small tripods used very effectively to get shots of groups moving through specific sections and time lapse edits are always a plus. Take some time and get out and practice. You'll get a grove into it. I continually learn and change some of the things I do. Watch a lot of videos and decide what you do and don't like in others videos and incorporate that.