Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Subway in zion on November 3rd

Subway in zion on November 3rd

Hi!
    We're considering to hike the Subway top-down on November 3rd, anyone ever done it that late in the year?

I have no specific experience in canyoneering (only once many years ago on the dead sea area in Israel) but 25 years of experience in alpinism, rock climbing, rappelling and hiking/excursions/ route finding (I was actually an unofficial course teacher of all these on the alps for several years). My two friends are good hikers but with respectively limited and no experience of alpinism and no experience of canyoneering as well.

We plan to go for the narrows sleeping on bottom the two days before and we are still debating whether or not we can afford this semi-technical route, but for the moment we have a few specific questions:

1) We were wondering if we really are going to need dry-suits, or if wetsuits will do.
    From the rout descriptions, we don't really understand how long we would have to hike out of the water in the wet wetsuit, waiting for the next swim. We expect T

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

[QUOTE][COLOR=#333333]We expect T
    Utah is a very special and unique place. There is no where else like it on earth. Please take care of it and keep the remaining wild areas in pristine condition. The world will be a better place if you do.

Do you need to wear a helmet? Certainly not. Would it be wise to wear one? Absolutely. You never know what might happen on slippery rocks.

A lot of times rappel stations have rings already put in place, but bring webbing and the essentials to set up an anchor should one not be there or if you have to replace an old/worn anchor. One of the most incredible things about canyoneering is that conditions are always changing within the canyons and something that was there before may no longer be there.

"I meant lower 60s, sorry that was a typo. Thanks for your input"