Thread: Partners / Advice for Oct 5-8 Zion Trip

Partners / Advice for Oct 5-8 Zion Trip

So, I am planning a short trip to Zion during the kids' (13 and 11) Fall Break to get in a couple of classic Zion canyons. They have been rappelling quite a bit, and I have taken them through Bear Canyon in Arizona so they are capable. But the problem is there is only one of me, and I really need another experienced person to either be at the top or bottom of each rappel to monitor/belay them. I figured I would start them on Keyhole, and then probably do Pine Creek just because it's a classic with easy access. (I have been canyoneering for about 10 years and am a member of our local Mountain Rescue team.)

If I'm not able to find a partner to assist getting the kids through a technical canyon, can anyone recommend something other than hiking up the Narrows (which we're already planning on doing one day)? Will it be too cold to do the Narrows without wetsuits at this time? I've been in late September several times before (Zion Rendezvous) and we were fine in the narrows without thermal protection, but this will be a couple of weeks later in the season.

Thanks for any and all input!
    Joe

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Content Provider Emeritus ratagonia's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jfuredy View Post
    So, I am planning a short trip to Zion during the kids' (13 and 11) Fall Break to get in a couple of classic Zion canyons. They have been rappelling quite a bit, and I have taken them through Bear Canyon in Arizona so they are capable. But the problem is there is only one of me, and I really need another experienced person to either be at the top or bottom of each rappel to monitor/belay them. I figured I would start them on Keyhole, and then probably do Pine Creek just because it's a classic with easy access. (I have been canyoneering for about 10 years and am a member of our local Mountain Rescue team.)