Thread: Helmets

Helmets

Ok so I've been climbing for a few years now and I'm actively trying more and more canyoneering, however I've been using my petzl elios for canyoneering and while everything I've read says that it's a great helmet for this use I just feel as though

1. A lot of times danger in canyons doesn't just come from falling rocks but slipping as well, and climbing helmets like the elios don't have any real side protection. And

2. I feel as though the foam in the climbing helmet will degrade much faster in prolonged exposure to water.

Recently I saw a video where some extreme canyoneers we're doing flips and jumps wearing whitewater helmets. I just don't know much about paddling and white water safety ratings on protective gear. It does seem like a good idea though seeing as how these helmets cover more on the sides and are meant to be in the water more. Thoughts?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I use my petzl elios helmet for both climbing and canyoneering and feel like it is light and strong enough for both. As for side protection I think the elios works fine.

I wear a petzl Ecrin rock. But that's beside the point. If I were to get a new helmet, I'd get a Bern watts with the neoprene pads. It can be used for whitewater, canyons, skate/bike. Switch the pads and it's good for winter as well.

Recently, I've also looked at the Mammut El cap. Good reviews and looks good.

LNT

Sorry I should have been more clear my question is really more about the safety ratings of a whitewater helmet and whether or not it would be suitable for canyoneering.

Content Provider Emeritus ratagonia's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Buttercup View Post
    Sorry I should have been more clear my question is really more about the safety ratings of a whitewater helmet and whether or not it would be suitable for canyoneering.