Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: CRITR rappel device demo

CRITR rappel device demo

First view of the CRITR prototype in use.
    Production units soon at http://canyonwerks.com
    and yeah... I am a Go pro newbie

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nice, lots of friction options. I hope this works out...

Hole looks pretty small...will this work double strand or is it only designed for single?

Name:  the family.jpg
Views: 4906
Size:  107.8 KB

Good question Sandstone--the CRITR top hole is smaller than the Pirana but a little larger than the ATS. Double rope rappels run great!
    Also the CRITR has larger edge radius than the ATS so double rope rappels are smoother on CRITR.

6. Likes Slot Machine liked this post
    I was just going to make my own comparison with pics like that! Glad to see that you beat me to it! :)

So exactly what can the CRITR do that the ATS can't?
    CanyoneeringUtah.blogspot.com
    My YouTube Channel

"As you journey through life, choose your destination well, but do not hurry there. You will arrive soon enough. Wander the back roads and forgotten path[s] ... Such things are riches for the soul. And if upon arrival, you find that your destination is not exactly as you had dreamed, ... know that the true worth of your travels lies not in where you come to be at journey

Hey Kuya!

What the CRITR CAN do that the the ATS and Pirana CAN'T:

SAVE YOUR HINEY! when you are a big person and/or choose the wrong (too low) a friction setting and step off the edge of the big drop.
    Many of us (most of us?) have had this happen at some point- we get surprised by that shiny new skinny rope or didn't realize the rap is overhung... and it AIN'T PRETTY!
    with the CRITR you can add variable friction on the fly- safely- without betting control of the rappel (and your life) trying to hook the rope around tiny fish hooks, or 'hyper-nubbs'
    The CRITR does not twist the rope
    The CRITR is symmetrical / reversible so wears much longer