Thread: Kolob Terrace advice

Kolob Terrace advice

I'm a total canyoneering newbie who's heading down to Zion for the Labor Day weekend. I've got a permit for the top-down Subway route on Aug.31, Orderville on Sept.1, and plan on hiking the West Rim trail on Sept.2.

My question is, what are the chances that I can hitch a ride on the Kolob Terrace Road to get to my Subway/West Rim trailheads? Is the traffic heavy enough that I could easily find a ride? I checked with Zion Adventure Company and their Subway shuttle is fully booked. I'll check out alternate services, but was hoping I could chance it and hitch instead.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I'd say your chances are about 99% you will catch a ride in 15 minutes if you arrive during the normal morning hours when others are doing the Subway hike. Also folks that drive the road often are usually good about picking up hikers as they understand the situation.

If you or your hiking partner is an attractive female your odds go to 100% and the time frame decreases to 5 minutes. Cute kids also have the same results.

At least that has been my experience, your mileage may vary.

Tap'n on my Galaxy G3

Name:  10473236-travel-woman-hitchhiking-beautiful-young-female-hitchhiker-by-the-road-during-vacation-.jpg
Views: 248
Size:  24.8 KB

4. Likes Byron, Slot Machine liked this post
    Quote Originally Posted by 2pter View Post
    My question is, what are the chances that I can hitch a ride on the Kolob Terrace Road to get to my Subway/West Rim trailheads? Is the traffic heavy enough that I could easily find a ride? I checked with Zion Adventure Company and their Subway shuttle is fully booked. I'll check out alternate services, but was hoping I could chance it and hitch instead.
    Cool itinerary. Sounds like fun.

Hitching a ride to the top of The Subway is easy. Do that.

For the WR TH, I bet you could easily hitchhike to the beginning of Lava Point Road, but then you would have to hike 2.2 miles down to the TH.