Thread: Church Rock Canyon

Church Rock Canyon

About a month late, but here's a trip report from early May:

Pretty much every time I go somewhere, I always wonder whether all these little side canyons I pass on the way would make good canyoneering routes. Of course, the answer is almost always no because the good routes are usually long enough that you can't see the good stuff from a road, even with California's relatively wide-open canyons. So then I pull up Google Earth but I always get tripped up by the fact that nature is fractal - when there's a drop, it's hard to tell initially whether that's a ten-foot divet or a 400-foot cliff. So, it's hard to just eyeball a canyon in Google Earth and see if it might be a good route, even with the amazing 3D features. Fortunately, I'm an engineer and Google's amazing, so I was able to use their Earth SDK to write a little script that will automatically trace and display the elevation profile of a non-slot canyon. Somewhat to my surprise, it works really, really well (at least in California) - you can actually see where each individual waterfall is and how tall they are! It turns out this is only possible because Google has a bunch of not-otherwise-publically-available elevation data that is substantially higher resolution than the 1/3 arcsecond (one point every ~10 meters) standard dataset, but that's not important here.
    Name:  Rubio.jpg
Views: 490
Size:  59.6 KB