Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Anchor and Rope responsibility

Anchor and Rope responsibility

I have a question for the group. What is our responsibility when it comes to anchor and placed ropes? A little background...On two of the more popular routes I do I find bad anchors and old fixed ropes. My partners and I have been questioning whether or not we should remove some of these ropes. These ropes are not safe and could lead to someone getting in over their head or worse. The anchors we are repairing or replacing. I am not an expert, but I know what is safe. Thanks for your comments.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I am another new member but I have been taught that repairing, replacing, and ensuring that anchors are placed appropriately to prevent injury and resource damage is the right thing to do. I know fixed ropes are in some locations to assist with difficult down climbs and such, other locations I have not been too they might be placed for escape or who knows. I would say that the average unknowing family on a day hike might find a fixed line and possibly attempt to continue a hike that would be otherwise completely impossible without gear or experience and then find themselves in trouble. However I do not know where the ethics and/or politics sit on such fixed lines. Hopefully Tom will through his two cents in on this one.

I've removed a few bad anchors and replaced them with safer ones. Usually just slings with bad lengths that would rub the rope or make the pull difficult. I think if you run across an unsafe anchor just go ahead and remove it. Especially if you're replacing it with a better one.

I'm a bit more weary about removing any fixed rope though, even if it looks a little sketchy and since I don't bring anything to remove bolts I don't mess with lose or badly placed ones. I just hope that future groups use their judgement too.

Re: Anchor and Rope responsibility

I try to "leave no trace".