Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: XC skiing lessons?

XC skiing lessons?

Well, the leaves are changing color and there's a chill in the air...time for me to start thinking about XC skiing again! I'm a total newbie so I'd like to get started on the right foot with some lessons. Any recommendations?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Quote Originally Posted by Candace66 View Post
    Well, the leaves are changing color and there's a chill in the air...time for me to start thinking about XC skiing again! I'm a total newbie so I'd like to get started on the right foot with some lessons. Any recommendations?
    My wife took a lesson last year at White Pine Touring, Just did the group lesson on a Sunaday. She ended up with a private lesson since no-one else showed up. I also like the Nordic Center at Solitude and the guys/gals there.

Rent gear the first couple of times you go out at least to make sure you like it.. Then I suggest picking up a used set if you like it. It is really common in the XC ski world to find brand new gear for sale by people who bought it, went 1X and decided it was too hard (got a killer set of fishers for my wife for $60 this way)
    Tacoma Said - If Scott he asks you to go on a hike, ask careful questions like "Is it going to be on a trail?" "What are the chances it will kill me?" etc. Maybe "Will there be sack-biting ants along the way?"

Thx!

Tonight was slow at work so I used my time wisely by checking out the offerings at different resorts. I see Solitude offers some instruction, as do other places.

I've also thought about trying out downhill skiing as well. Brighton has a 3-day newbie package for $199 that looks interesting. Downhill looks to me like an expensive sport though (going by the price of lift tickets)!

Thx!

Tonight was slow at work so I used my time wisely by checking out the offerings at different resorts. I see Solitude offers some instruction, as do other places.