Thread: James Canyon, Flagstaff, AZ

James Canyon, Flagstaff, AZ

I'm new to technical canyoneering and this is my first trip report. I've been a rock climber and alpinist for 35 years (beat that, young whippersnappers) and needed to find something that I could do with the new wife, who doesn't rock climb. She loves to hike the canyon country of southern Utah, so some easy canyoneering was the logical next step.

I have lived for 23 years just a few miles from the drop in for James Canyon, which is located about 8 miles south of Flagstaff. We decided to give it a go as our first "official" technical canyon (rated 3BIII). There are many places where you can escape if needed. It also gave me the chance to put my new Go Pro 2 to good use.

To approach, park at the Kelly Canyon exit (#331) on I-17. The Forest Service has permanently closed the access road, so you'll have to park just off pavement at the end of the exit ramp (don't block the gate). Hike south for 0.7 miles (noisy interstate to your left). Continue over a fence and veer right to find the basalt slabs that form the head of the canyon. The fun starts right away. Scramble down the basalt, past a few pools and easy downclimbs to the first swim. It's right under the powerlines, which will soon head off in another direction. In a few minutes, the basalt gives way to sandstone, which is present for the remainder of the route. The canyon is full of poison ivy, so be alert. I've also encountered bears nearby, so don't be surprised to see one.