Thread: Flash flood in North Wash

Flash flood in North Wash

I am new to both this forum (hence the delayed post) and canyoneering, but am really enjoying both since building a second home in Bluff.

I thought some of you might be interested in this video I shot last year. My wife and I were driving up North Wash when a thunderstorm hit the upper end. We quickly drove back down stream and waited for the show.

David

2. Likes ratagonia, blueeyes, jbick liked this post
  3. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

That's pretty cool! What a sight!

Blog Entries
    very cool! I love the zoom in around 2:00 and seeing the torrent around the one corner and dry around the next.
    ●Canyoneering 'Canyon Conditions' @ www.candition.com
    ●Hiking Treks (my younger brother's website): hiking guides @ www.thetrekplanner.com
    "He who walks on the edge...will eventually fall."
    "There are two ways to die in the desert - dehydration and drowning." -overhearing a Park Ranger at Capitol Reef N.P.
    "...the first law of gear-dynamics: gear is like a gas - it will expand to fit the available space." -Wortman, Outside magazine.
    "SEND IT, BRO!!"

We're all here, because we ain't all there.
    Welcome to bogley.........

WAY COOL VIDEO!!!!

Thanks for sharing..

That is amazing. You are fortunate to witness such an event, especially from a safe distance. I remember the first major flash flood I ever saw, it was in Wahweap and afterward, my dad measured the depth of the empty wash bottom and it was around 10 feet deep. Definitely left a lasting impression and respect for flash floods. Thanks for sharing it.

Thanks.... and welcome to bogley

Awesome video!

Nothing like watching a flash flood. Glad you could see this in person. They are awesome.
    Life is Good

Quote Originally Posted by Scott Card View Post
    Nothing like watching a flash flood. Glad you could see this in person. They are awesome.