Thread: Looking for partners for Quandary Direct

Looking for partners for Quandary Direct

Either May 26-27 or June 1-2 I'll be heading out to Quandary to meet up with my dad. He's coming from Western Colorado, I'm coming from Provo, UT.

Dad and I started playing around in canyons in 2004, but didn't get really serious about things until we did a 3 day basic training with ZAC in 2008. Since then we've tried to keep busy with canyons, and we've been soaking up all the knowledge we can.

I worked as a guide with Zion Ponderosa Ranch last summer running Birch Hollow (and would have again this summer, but my wife is having a baby in June... maybe I'm just not dedicated to canyoneering....).

I carry gear for and am comfortable building and rigging multiple types of anchors, ascending, descending, knot passing, contingency anchors, pick-offs, lowers, etc.

On this trip, my weakness is that I have not actually done any pothole escapes in canyons before. I feel comfortable taking myself and dad into the canyon, but if you don't already have experience I don't feel comfortable taking responsibility for you. We're bringing a potshot or two and our packs and hooks. I can scramble and I can/am willing to get creative with partner assists (not a euphemism ).

My dad is a great guy, he can handle himself in the canyon, but he's a slow hiker, especially once he's tired and we're headed back to the car, so you'll have to be willing to mozy a little bit on the return hike.

Also, I've been keeping a list of canyons I've done- here's a link to the list. It's not a wildly exciting list, but I feel pretty good about it. I have friends who have quickly gotten into the big-boy canyons, I have taken my time. I'm cautious (you might call me wimpy) and so I've been taking on more advanced canyons a little bit at a time.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...W4iaRMjSM/edit