Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Food Ideas?

Food Ideas?

Does anyone make their own food for backpacking? I don't have a dehydrator (I know I need one) but I would like to find out some food ideas that people like that they make themselves.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

ephemeral excursionist blueeyes's Avatar
    I am just getting started with backpacking and will watch this thread with interest. Wish I had something to add but I don't only two trips under my belt.
    Chere'

It really depends on what you like as most things can be dehydrated (in the oven even if you don't have a dehydrator). Also how much work you want to do when you are out in the hills. I like my meals to be quick and simple.

mashed Potatoes with bacon bits is good - literally instant potatoes, bacon bits, a KFC butter packet, chives, Parmesan cheese (put them in a baggy and just add hot water)
    Quesadillas - First day of trip only but some string cheese, a couple tortillas, some ham (store with a frozen water bottle wrapped in some clothes and it stays cold all day)

I have moved away from much cooked fare and will just eat dried fruits, nuts and chicken jerky for the most part. Even Oatmeal can be done non cook if you sleep with your water so that it is warm, put it in your oatmeal and wait a protractedly long time for it to absorb everything and then mow down (I like carbs in the morning).

honestly if there is something you think would be good there is probably a way to make it in the backcountry.
    Tacoma Said - If Scott he asks you to go on a hike, ask careful questions like "Is it going to be on a trail?" "What are the chances it will kill me?" etc. Maybe "Will there be sack-biting ants along the way?"

Adventurer at Large! BruteForce's Avatar