Thread: Stopper Knots

Stopper Knots

Which do you use/prefer and why? I don't recall what I was taught when I took the ACA course (or if it was covered). I use a Piranha and a figure 8 on a 9.2mm rope seems like it could pass through.

2. Likes Knotty Spunky Day-Go liked this post
  3. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I don't use stopper knots. I've had some bad experiences with the knots getting stuck. They create more problems than they solve.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2

Content Provider Emeritus ratagonia's Avatar
    I don't use them either, for the same reasons. Also, when using a Pirana, many knots could pass through.

I consider it a better method to pay attention to where the end of the rope is, and not go past it. it's kind of like not-letting-go with your brakehand when rappelling.

Tom

I'm a fan of stopper knots. Any knot will do, even an overhand. The idea is that it won't pass through your brake hand rather than the rappel device.

I agree that it is best to know where the end of the rope is, but this isn't always possible and human error happens. A stopper knot helps to mitigate this risk. Same reason we tether off before weighting the rappel rope, inspect each other's rigging and harness, and drive defensively -- to mitigate human error. World class climbers have made this fatal error.

Not sure when the knot would get stuck as long as it's undone before pulling the rope. Only other potential issue I can think of is when rappelling into deep water and you want to set the rope to just the right length. I still use a stopper knot and have the first man down untie after verifying the rope reaches the water.

Hmmm. Those that don't like the stopper knot, whatcha all do on the second to the last rap in Heaps? You know the one going to the bird perch? I am not sure I want my rope ending 300 feet off the deck without a stopper knot at the end of the rope.
    Life is Good

Quote Originally Posted by Exergy View Post