Thread: Anybody been down Das Boot recently?

Anybody been down Das Boot recently?

I'm a newbie, with Keyhole, Pine Creek, and a 3-day course making up my entire resume. I have a permit for Das Boot for May 5th. I've read some route descriptions, and I'm coming up with varying degrees of how difficult it is. Am I doing something similar to what I've already done? Or am I in for something more difficult? Any thoughts would be appreciated!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

First thought, much, MUCH, MUCH colder in Das Boot for a much longer period of time in the canyon than any other canyon you have done. . You may (likly?) encounter flowing water this time of year. A couple of the raps are awkward. It is a ton of fun but, again, very little sunlight and super cold, particularly if you are going through with snow runoff. Technically it is not terribly challenging unless something changed during the winter which without a current report is entirely possible. The last anchor that used to be there a few years ago was blown out one winter by a another tree falling on it probably due to an avalance of sorts...??? (If memory serves me correctly, that is) Anyway, I hope others pipe up with current beta for you if that is all the experience you have. I am not dissing your experience I just know how darn cold it is in runoff in there and one little hiccup in there could be very dangerous.
    Life is Good

IMHO.... Das Boot is a step up, but its a reasonable step for you to take. None of the routes you have listed required navigation. The biggest difference is Das Boot requires the ability to read a map, route find and navigate.

I assume you are exiting out the Subway, because the other alternative blows.

Das Boot Route Description