Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flash Floods In Early April

Flash Floods In Early April

With the forecast looking gloomy for this weekend, I'm wondering. I've heard that flash floods don't happen this early in the year. True? What do you think?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Flash floods can happen any time we get a good storm, it doesn't matter what time of year it is.

I've been backpacking on the Colorado Plateau for more than 25 years. I've seen some BIG floods, but very rarely in April. I wouldn't go into a slot canyon with little or no escape when it looks like it's going to rain. It's a judgement call though when you get there and it's just a light drizzle. Better safe than sorry considering the consequence is rubber bones...

Some of the biggest ones I have seen have been in the winter. Salt River basin jumped 60k overnight one winter. GC tribe flashed wicked on our January float. I was in the boat waiting for the decent team for the Pyscho Damage incident (early April) when it flashed majorly.

It definitely happens.

Phillip

Flash floods have happened in every month, but statistically, in SE Utah April and June are the least likely months to flash flood.
    Utah is a very special and unique place. There is no where else like it on earth. Please take care of it and keep the remaining wild areas in pristine condition. The world will be a better place if you do.

Quote Originally Posted by Scott P View Post
    Flash floods have happened in every month, but statistically, in SE Utah April and June are the least likely months to flash flood.
    Hmm, what happened to May, being in the middle of April and June?
    I'll be there in May, don't tell me chances are much higher then in either April or June...
    I think I wouldn't understand...

So why does the national weather service stop issuing flash flood warnings and ratings during winter?

Quote Originally Posted by qedcook View Post