Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wahweap Hoodoos Access ???

Wahweap Hoodoos Access ???

Hello all,
    I'm new to the site and just wanted to say hello real quick! I also have a question regarding access to the Wahweap Hoodoos. I am interested in visiting in a couple of weeks and I would like to use the access that comes from the north, off of BLM 431. I don't want to drive into the wash or into the creek or anything like that. I am just wondering if it is possible to still get to the 4WD Parking Lot noted in Laurent Martres book or if the BLM completely closed the road going in there? Any help would be great!

Thanks!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I am no expert on the area, but I have researched this exact question since I will be in Page, AZ next week. The consensus is that BLM 431 is absolutely closed approximately 4-5 miles before the Hoodoos. I personally plan to hike into them from the South from near Big Water. Maybe someone will chime in the confirm what I have read elsewhere.

4. Likes Glenn liked this post

Thanks...

Hey, thanks for the update. That's what I was worried about, and I'll go with that unless someone local can say otherwise.
    Ryan

White Sands Jeep Road

So on the same subject of the road closure, can you still access the north end of white sands jeep road? Or is that after the road closure?

My understanding, again based on what I have read, is that the closure of 431 is prior to the White Sand Road.

Thanks Again

Right on, I'll go into it keeping that in mind. Again, if anyone from the area has any updates to this it would be much appreciated. I really appreciate your info Steve. I hope you have a great trip!

We're all here, because we ain't all there.
    Just off the phone with the Bigwater BLM office.

They say the entire road has been an "administrative" road, ever since the inception of GSENM.