Thread: 1st Century

1st Century

I've decided I want to ride in my first century this year. I'm new to road biking and know little about the finer details. So, I would like to know if any of you out there have any advice for me. Anything from favorite meals before long rides, to best riding gear, to favorite places to ride. I'm still trying to choose which century I want to do, considering the Tour de St. George, and the Frontrunner Century. I'm also in the market for a good bike, so any advice there would be good too.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

What time of year do you want to ride?

First off, peruse here to find plenty of events to choose from: http://www.cyclingutah.com/event-cal...-century-ride/

Now some more advice. You are going to need to figure out your nutrition for the long rides. Find out what you can tolerate eating while riding to replenish the carbs. Same for fluids. I alternate water and a weak gatorade solution on my long rides. Supplement with power bars and bananas. I can tolerate a lot of different carbs but have found peanuts and peanut butter to be a no-no for me.

On my weekly long ride of 40-70 miles I like to have a large bowl of steel cut oatmeal with pecans, apples, raisins and a touch of maple syrup. I also add flax seed and wheat germ to it. This gives me a boost of power for the rides. Then it's just a matter of keeping the fluids going and eating about every 30 minutes.

Finding the right saddle that works for you will be very important for riding a century. Unfortunately this is a trial and error process. Link up with a local bike shop for loaner saddles and keep trying them out until you find what works for you. Also getting someone knowledgeable to help you set up you bike fit can go along ways towards your comfort and being efficient.

Bike specific clothing is a plus also. It should fit well and breathe well so you stay dry and comfortable. I use wool in the winter but standard technical clothes in the summer.