Thread: Multi day Utah cross country

Multi day Utah cross country

Hey - first time posting here, so feel free to tell me I'm doing something wrong. That said.

I'm looking for information about a 1 - 2 week bike trip this summer in Utah. None of the details are set and I'm open to suggestions. I have a hybrid bike, so unfortunately I'm not equipped to do more than a few miles of unpaved road. I'd like to camp for most of the trip, although I'm not sure about my ability to bring food for that long, so ideally there would be a few nights of passing through small towns.

I really have no idea what it's like to bike in Utah, just an idea of what the scenery can be. As you might have guessed I'm a relative newb to long distance biking. Hopefully trouble and adventure will be a part (just not a huge part) of the trip.

Thanks in advance. Happy to learn!

-greg

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Sounds like a grand adventure. I've been toying with the idea of bikepacking myself.

I'm not sure exactly what you're looking for though - mostly paved road routes? dirt roads? singletrack? a mix of all? Since you have a hybrid, you could probably put fat tires on the bike & happily ride both dirt/singletrack. If you're looking to do mostly road, I think you'd be much happier with a road/touring bike. What area were you looking to ride?

I think I'm looking for paved roads. But I'm willing to be convinced otherwise. The hybrid has a carbon fork but no other shock absorption - what's it like to ride tens/hundreds of miles of dirt without more suspension? To be honest getting off the roads sounds really appealing. I just didn't know it was a possibility.

For areas... Southeastern Utah and Canyonlands national park is what I was toying with. But I've never been to Utah and don't know anything about it other than pictures and recommendations. Ashley National Forest looks lovely. Really this is a bit of a whim, so I'm open to suggestions.