Thread: Looking for quality car camping (not in a campground) in the Uintas

Looking for quality car camping (not in a campground) in the Uintas

I'm hoping the forum can provide me with some recommendations. I'm fairly new to Utah, and don't have a lot of knowledge of the Uintas. Normally, my wife and I would just pack our bags and backpack in somewhere, however we're looking for something different. I work full time and attend college part time, and I've just finished my summer classes. It's been a very busy summer with no time off, so we are looking to get away for the weekend with the whole family. This includes myself, my wife, a 3 year old daughter, an infant daughter, and two lazy dogs. We're usually not much for car-camping, but since we'll be bringing the kids, we don't want to have to travel far from the vehicle. I have a capable Toyota Tacoma 4x4, and I don't really care for established campgrounds and the hoards of people. Basically, I'm looking for someplace we can avoid the masses and be (pretty much) alone while still having reasonable access to the vehicle (and preferably this wouldn't involve listening to ATV's all day). I'm not against hiking in somewhere, but I wouldn't feel comfortable getting more than a mile or two away from the vehicle in case we had any trouble. I also hope to provide my daughters with pleasant outdoor experiences so that they may enjoy it more as they grow. I'd like to be able to go fishing, and ideally we could have a few short day hikes from our camping spot. We're probably looking at doing this the weekend of August 19-21.