Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Prints, File Size, and Image Quality

Prints, File Size, and Image Quality

I basically have no idea what I am doing here, so I am hoping someone can shed some light.

I have my workflow for processing pictures, saving them, etc. I shoot with a T2i, so I have decently large files to start with. I want to get some good crisp prints, up to 20x30 or larger, and am struggling. Generally, the good images I could see myself ordering a large print of, I will keep as a TIFF that is about 100mb. My reasons for this... see the above comment about I have no idea. I just figured a 100mb TIFF would be lead to a better large print than a 14mb JPG, and I have no knowledge to back that up.

So that brings me to my current situation. I have one of these 100mb prints and I want to order a 20x30 and a 16x20 from Adorama. There max file size is 60mb, so all I can think of is to get in Photoshop and change the image size until the file is below 60mb, but obviously that is reducing my quality. Then, in Adorama, they have a little scale that shows you the image quality by DPI (another concept that I probably dont understand as well as I should), and both of the images are about right in between "Fair - 100 DPI" and "Good - 300+ DPI".

The whole reason I am keeping these larger files is so I can get closer to the "Good - 300+ DPI" end of it. I am not sure if my whole workflow is wrong/ineffective/pointless, or if I could be doing better at the resizing stage to reduce the file size but keep the image quality. I definitely think I am missing something since the max file size Adorama allows is 60, and I am sure there are people who have it figured out to get better quality large prints.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
    "Human beings were not meant to sit in little cubicles staring at computer screens all day, filling out useless forms and listening to eight different bosses drone on about mission statements"

Peter Gibbons - Office Space

2. # ADS