Thread: Anyone ride?

Anyone ride?

I'm Sarah from the Durango area. My husband and I have been riding in SE Utah every spring and fall for the past 8 years, and the mountains in the summer. In a good year we cover about 400-500 miles, mostly on trails but some off trail as well. We love Comb Wash and Cedar Mesa, and have been to the Escalante once. My profile pic is Lobo Arch (now called Jacob Hamblin) in Coyote Creek (what an amazing place!!!!). Been in the Grand Gulch a few times, and Monument Valley with our own horses.

Anyhow, just wondering if there are other horse users on here?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Hello Durango Sarah!
    Wanted to make you aware of some horse sense for Moab Utah, north of your favorite stomping grounds in SE Utah.
    Horseback Riding Moab 2011

The Old Spanish Trail Arena has 196 horse stalls for overnight rental, when an equestrian event isn’t dedicated to the property. Adjacent to the property is the OK RV Campground for hook ups or tent camping near your animals.

The BLM has one backcountry campsite at Upper Onion Creek Site A that accommodates 8-20 people and a corral for up to eight horses. The site is adequate for four vehicles with horse trailers. And this campsite can be reserved, as it is a group campsite. The BLM also recommends Goose Island, Ken’s Lake and Hittle Bottom Campsites as more suitable BLM sites for camping with horses. As a courtesy to campers who will arrive after your use, please pack out animal waste.

The Moab Travel Council website provides a brochure of Horseback Riding Trails for general trail descriptions and etiquette. The flyer lists requirements for Forest Service lands, Bureau of Land Management (BLM) lands, Canyonlands and Arches National Parks use for pack and saddle stock. Good news? Riding is permitted in the parks. There are specific conditions to adhere to for public lands riding.