Thread: Wind Rivers n00b questions

Wind Rivers n00b questions

I'm preparing to get all over the Winds this summer. I've spent loads of time in the Uintas but nothing in the Winds. So with that said, I have a few questions that I'm sure will be cake for the many Wind River vets around here.

When do the Winds usually become accessible? Same kind of melt cycle as the Uintas? Is early July safe or different from year to year? How about the end of season up there, about the same as Uintas?

How about fishing... Are the lakes stocked or are they native? Are there a lot of them that have no fish or can you count on most having healthy populations like you would in the Uintas? I've heard there are Golden trout there instead of brookies?

And finally, where are your favorite areas? How about the best first place to go for a noob? (Feel free to email me that one if you want ).

Muchos gracias.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I'm no expert on the Winds, but I'll gladly answer the questions I can... I started backpacking 4 years ago (5 this summer) and have gone to the Winds every year. I have backpacked Yellowstone and the Unitas, but love the Winds the best!

I have always gone in August. I hear July is HORRIBLE for mosquitoes. My cousin has been in around the end of June and did fine. You can check out his pics here to see what the conditions were like then:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/50521126@N00/sets/
    I know there are quite a few that go in Sept as well.

As for the fish being native/stocked. I believe almost all the lakes had no fish in them back in the early 1900's until Finis Mitchell came and stocked them. I don't believe any of the lakes are stocked now days. Most of the fish in the Winds are cutthroat or brooks. There are Goldens, but I have yet to find them... Almost all the lakes have fish in them... at least the ones you'd expect to have fish. Shallow lakes and very high altitude lakes usually don't have any fish...