Thread: Navigator in CBS?

Navigator in CBS?

Hi all. I'm new here. GREAT site!!!

Got a question - self and friend are going into the CBS, Paw Hole, Cottonwood, White Pocket areas in May. Reading some log reports of folks who've been in there has got us prepared - we hope - but also a wee bit nervous. I should say that i'm not a total novice, having done both Elephant Hill and Sand Creek in Canyonlands in my now deceased '86 Cherokee 4x4. My friend is not quite as experienced, but is driving a Jeep Liberty to hopefully make up for it. I, OTOH, am now driving a 2004 4x4 Lincoln Navigator. I've done some snow with it but little else. It does have low range (I've heard the new ones dont?) and will have brand new Michelin Pilot mud and snows on it when we go. We are each bringing air compressor, tow strap, shovel, 3x3 pads for tire traction and hi-lifts.

Question is - what're our chances? Since I've read that Subarus make it in and out just fine, I'm not that worried for the Liberty. But what about the Nav? It weighs over 6000lbs dry and with me and my equipment and gas and water and Jack Daniels, it could be closer to 7000 lbs when I hit the sand. Will it sink like a stone? Or will a nice heavy foot on the pedal driving 4 aired-down tires get me in and out? Bets? Help? Thanks.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Hi,

I have been on the Paria plateau quite often with different vehicles. Which time of the year do you want to go there ? If you are going the Coral Valley route you should be fine with your Navigator. If you want to go up Paw Hole I would doubt, that you are able to go up.
    I have been there three weeks ago and the conditions were perfect, but that may change fast.