Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Escalante Slot's

Escalante Slot's

Hello everyone! I just joined, though I've been reading this site for a few months. My wife and I have been hiking in Colorado for quite a few years and in the last couple years we've been getting into slot canyons. We don't have any repelling equipment. We want to take a course, but can't afford it at this point(500 per person is a bit much) I think the hardest canyon we have done is ding and dang and we loved it! We are heading to Escalante from March 16-19th and we are looking for canyon's that are similar to ding and dang...Anyone have any advice? Also, does anyone know of course's that are a bit cheaper? Thanks,

Kevin

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Check out Peek-a-boo, spooky, and brimstone.

Escalante is a great area with several beginner slots in the area.
    Spooky & Brimstone come to mind.
    Egypt 3 is does require some gear, but you might want to do some research on it. Wetsuits would be a necessity in March.
    Pick up Kelsey's book for a pretty good area overview and further ideas. *It's a good overview/starting place, but there's better info out there.

Content Provider Emeritus ratagonia's Avatar
    http://www.zionadventures.com/zion-p...ng-course.html

Our One Day Basic would set you up for doing many canyons in Zion, and maybe elsewhere if you are a quick learner. $199.00 per person at Zion Adventure Company. It is good to schedule a couple of days of canyoneering after your course, so you can work those skills into your memory better. After a course, gear can be rented for about $25.00 per person per day (without wetsuits or dry suits). For most people, another day of instruction would be required to safely navigate canyons outside of Zion that require some natural anchor skills.