Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Must See Slots - Recommendations?

Must See Slots - Recommendations?

Hello,
    I'm new to canyoneering and have only done a couple of canyons (Little Wild Horse, Main Fork of Blue John, and High Spur).

I was wondering what slots you all would consider to be a "must see/do"?

For now, we're probably looking for something similar to High Spur as far as the technical level required. A few raps (100' or less), good downclimbs, etc...

Anybody willing to help a noob?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Bogley BigShot
    Just about everything in Zion. Love Das Boot.

Welcome!

Thanks for the info and warm welcome.
    I'll have to start researching Das Boot and some of the other canyons in Zion.

Blog Entries
    for your beginning status, and for Zion area-Pinecreek, Keyhole, Subway, The Narrows, and Mystery Canyon. There are many more there, but definitely need more experience for those. There are some other good ones, such as Misery but I wouldn't say must-do, personally.

North Wash area & Lake Powell; West Canyon, Leprechaun, Shillelagh, Lucky Charms, and Black Hole.

Northern Utah: Rocky Mouth canyon, Battle Creek, Bridal Veil Falls.

Moab: Tierdrop, Rock of Ages, Granary, Pleaides (but after July, for your group, otherwise it's too much water), and Dragonfly (many will disagree with me)

Swell: Zero G, Knotted Rope, the Squeeze, Iron Wash (good beginner pothole experience)

Man...there are too many canyons to choose from. Those are personal favorites (for beginners). I do like, Adams Canyon, lower waterfall for how short it is, and the return trip is less than 2mins, and definitely good practice for Class C.

Anywho...just take it easy. And Digest slowly.

And Welcome!
    ●Canyoneering 'Canyon Conditions' @ www.candition.com
    ●Hiking Treks (my younger brother's website): hiking guides @ www.thetrekplanner.com
    "He who walks on the edge...will eventually fall."