Thread: Bootleg Canyon

Bootleg Canyon

Yesterday we went out to Bootleg Canyon. It was our first trip out there. We had a fun time even though that place is rocky as hell. No true casualties, though I did find myself going over the bars (in true endo style) while going down GirlScout.

We got out there at about 11ish to a nice, overcast, breezy day. Temps were at about 65 with a wind chill of probably another 5 degrees. We rode Caldera first. Lots of fun, a few spots where I was like " there is no f..ing way I'm riding down that". I was surprised at how challenging some of that stuff is. I felt like a total noob until I saw others walking their bikes up the hard stuff. We found out at the end that we had ridden Caldera backwards, so much for the help off of MTBR! But by riding it backwards we ended up having to go up some super steep stuff, alot of which we had to walk up.

When we got back to the truck a couple of older ladies pulled up in an oldsmobile and started chatting us up. After a few minutes I realized that these ladies where looking for some young beefcake. Now I'm not totally sure, but....I'm pretty sure we could have climbed into the back of that olds and had some crazy mtn bike trail sexo. What can I say, I'm like a venus fly trap for the ladies!

Then we rode down Girlscout. A total blast. Rolling hills with some nice challenging stuff. I did eat it once. I was going slow and the front tire hit a rock and stopped, which promptly threw me over the bars and into the rocks. Now there is a scratch on my new bike. Mother effer.

When we got down to the restrooms we decided to come back up Boyscout. BAD DECISION. Lots of steep, rocky hills, what can I say we're total noobs. Ended up doing this new thing I like to call Mtn Hike instead of mtn bike.

We had a lot of fun. We definately were in over our heads at one point but hey we're new and we were out!

Some stats for those of you who care...

Total mileage=7.5 miles
    Max Speed=17.8 (balls out brah!)