Thread: Rocky Sea Pass to Cyclone Pass

Rocky Sea Pass to Cyclone Pass

Hey, all. I'm a newbie on this site. These forums contain alot expertise with the Uinta range.

I'm mulling a trip there this August, and would like to hike high for the vistas. Just looking at the map, it appears as if some of the ridgelines might be hikable peak to peak:

Hayden to Agassiz to Spread Eagle to Rocky Sea to Cyclone, for example. Not that this would be a one day hike, or even a single hike, but does anyone know whether it could be hiked/scrambled without ropes?

Or whether there would be any similar peak to peak or ridge hiking opportunities in the range?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I've gone over the saddle between Hayden & Mt Agassiz a few times to get to the fishing in the basin on the other side.

The ridgelines might be hikeable. There are some small cliff lines that won't show up on most topos. There'd be quite a few variables- your comfort level with the potential penalty factor, routefinding ability, snow levels, etc.

You could check over on summitpost.org to see if there's anything there.

The big problem I see is the potential for miles of huge boulders making travel very dangerous and slow. I'd love to hear how it goes though. It would be awesome to stay high for that long. Weather up there could make it tricky though, you'd really have to hammer it out in the AM before those afternoon storms roll in.

Here's a pic from the Rock Creek side of Rocky Sea Pass looking south towards the direction of Cyclone Pass.

Name:  STE_0929..jpg
Views: 1095
Size:  97.3 KB

Hayden to Agassiz to Spread Eagle to Rocky Sea to Cyclone, for example. Not that this would be a one day hike, or even a single hike, but does anyone know whether it could be hiked/scrambled without ropes?
    Yes; it can be done without ropes. I've done all those ridgelines (mostly piece by piece rather than all at once) and never used a rope.