Thread: Kauai'i trip in September 2011

Blog Entries

Kauai'i trip in September 2011

So my family and I found an incredible deal on Costco Travel's website, where 8 of us can go for $925 for 7 days - which includes all airfare (from SLC, LA, Kauai), hotel, and even a van! Holy awesome! So for those of you looking for awesome trip as well, I would hit up the website and look into it pronto...

We're staying at the Aston Poipu Kai, which I heard is quite good. Has something like 7 pools, full amenities, and just a mile or so from the only Costco on the island.

I've been to Oahu and the Big Island a few years back, but this is my first time to Kauai'i.

I've been scanning over the past threads gathering more info...
    I've learned that massive flooding brought out lots of chickens and wildlife from the inner jungle out to the cities (many years ago and now they permanently live there now), and to expect quite a bit of garbage.

Things to do: boogy-board (buy boards from costco), take a surfing class, golf on a 9-hole or 18-hole course, check out the Waimea canyon (where they filmed Jurassic Park 1 when then first drop into the canyon), and snorkel around.

I've also learned that scuba diving isn't so great there, as fresh water kills the reef. And Kauai'i receives the most water or precipiation in the world, so the reef isn't anything out of the ordinary. But snorkeling I hear is the better sport to choose compared to scuba diving on Kauai.

I would like spend one or two days and do countless hikes within those days. IE exploring waterfalls, exploring lava tubes, checking out flower plantations, maybe some possible short canyoneering? I would prefer some personal experience over books, but I'm just trying to narrow down my options...any ideas?