Thread: Wire Pass to Buckskin conditions?

Wire Pass to Buckskin conditions?

Hi, first time post here, though I have been enjoying southern UT whenever I can for a good 20 years, and I help mod the Yahoo Zion group.

Anyway, because of the construction, I'm not hiking around East Zion as planned in a couple of weeks, but using the opportunity to explore a bit further east. I intend to day hike Wire Pass and down Buckskin a ways (watching weather forecasts for sure). I've heard a wide range of reports, or non-reports, on two "obstacles" between the Wire Pass trailhead and the confluence. Knowing that conditions change year to year, I wonder if anyone can comment on recent conditions? In particular, is there any spot where I might want to leave a rope in place for the hike back out?

Many thanks!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Welcome to Bogley

I haven't been recently, but the obstacles in Wire Pass are never a major issue

The only obstacle that sometimes requires a rope is located at the lower end of Buckskin and is known as "The Rockfall". And last report I heard said "The Rabbit Hole" was open through the rockfall. The rabbit holes allows you to easily climb under the rockfall without a rope, but it opens and closes with each flash flood.

Buckskin Gulch
    http://climb-utah.com/Escalante/buckskin.htm

I don't know the current conditions, but here's a photo of the rockfall area from below. On the left is some webbing set up to downclimb the fall. On the right is a set of steps carved for down (or up) climbing:

I don't know where the "rabbit hole" comes out in this area. This being the technical crux, I'd consider having enough webbing along to fix the left side (if it's missing). If the rabbit hole is passable, then there should be no need to fix anything for a hike back up and out.