Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why Apple hates Flash by Steve Jobs

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Wow. In geek-speak, he really put the hammer down.

and people wonder why M$ dominates the market....

Quote Originally Posted by Summit View Post
    and people wonder why M$ dominates the market....
    Not the mobile market. Not even close. In fact, they are barely on the radar.

Quote Originally Posted by Don View Post
    Wow. In geek-speak, he really put the hammer down.
    Yep, in geek talk Steve nailed it. I have been using flash professionally for 8 years. Somebody find me a flash site that loads fast, doesn't hog memory and would work well on a mobile device. Hell, flash doesn't run well on some PC's and trust me, its a major pain to make sure it works well for everyone. The smart developers have abandoned flash years ago for the lightweight more efficient languages...JavaScript, Ajax, etc, etc and now HTML5. I honestly don't miss flash on my iPhone or iPad. Flash is hell to work with and the smart companies are switching to HTML5 which you can now export to from Adobe CS5.

Microsoft Looks to a Future of H.264-Based HTML5 for Web Video Content

Microsoft takes a seat on the bus...

-----------

There’s been a lot of posting about video and video formats on the web recently. This is a good opportunity to talk about Microsoft’s point of view.

The future of the web is HTML5. Microsoft is deeply engaged in the HTML5 process with the W3C. HTML5 will be very important in advancing rich, interactive web applications and site design. The HTML5 specification describes video support without specifying a particular video format. We think H.264 is an excellent format. In its HTML5 support, IE9 will support playback of H.264 video only.