Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with Research Paper

Help with Research Paper

I know this is completely unrelated to anything outdoorsy, or fun for that matter, but I also know there are alot of smart folks hanging around here, so I thought I would ask for some help.

I am doing a research paper for a math class, and collecting information about how math is used in the 'real world'. If you use math in anyway in your job, please respond, and let me know how you use math, what it is you do, and if you like - what position you hold with what company (or what kind of company if you dont want to give too personal of information out).

Any responses will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
    "Human beings were not meant to sit in little cubicles staring at computer screens all day, filling out useless forms and listening to eight different bosses drone on about mission statements"

Peter Gibbons - Office Space

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I am a commercial plumber. We use math all day long. Something simple such as installing pipe hanger supports from the trusses requires us to measure from the ceiling to the bottom of the pipe and then subtract the clevis hanger allowance in order to cut the all thread rod at the proper length. When doing a rolling offset to connect two pipes this formula is used. Rise squared multiplied by the offset squared equals the sum which you then take the square root of that number multiplied by 1.414. That number is the length of pipe required. Sometimes we use volume formulas to calculate the weight of water inside of a pipe while it is under test.

I'm in software engineering. There is math in few places but maybe less than one might think for an engineering discipline.

Statistics are important for all sorts of analysis of performance: UI response, memory use, bug find/fix rates, etc.