Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ACA Canyoneering Book - Redeux

ACA Canyoneering Book - Redeux

Is this actually going to happen this time or is it just more vapor-text?

Here is a short unabashed history of the ACA book to date....

I've been hearing about this mythical beast since at least 1999. It was almost done and would be out shortly.

Sometime around 2002 I had the pleasure of reading several draft versions of different chapters.

In 2004 I received this.... "The book is being published in 3 volumes. Volume 1 covers our Technical Canyoneering Course curriculum for canyons up to 3B. Volume 2 covers our Advanced Canyoneering Course -- canyons up to 4C -- and Canyon Rescue Course curriculums. The third book will be titled 'Anchors for Canyoneering' and will provide numerous anchor examples. Volume 1, version 1.0, will start shipping in early January 2005."

In 2006 you could actually drop some coin and order the book out of the Mountain Gear Catalog..... but no matter how many days you stood waiting at the mailbox it would never arrive. At the time the book was called "Canyons-Skills and Techniques" and was being trumpeted with a lot of posts of the cool looking front cover.

Now in 2010 pretty pictures of a new cover and title "The ART of Canyoneering Field Guide" by Rich Carlson start showing up. The teaser is being posted in several places by the author with no further information or comment.

So.... is this going to actually happen this time is it it just anther show of smoke and mirrors?

Name:  cover_fieldguide&#.jpg
Views: 2767
Size:  47.8 KB

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Blog Entries
    I checked canyonsandcrags.com, which is Rich's website practically , but there is no 2010 book. Sorry.
    ●Canyoneering 'Canyon Conditions' @ www.candition.com
    ●Hiking Treks (my younger brother's website): hiking guides @ www.thetrekplanner.com
    "He who walks on the edge...will eventually fall."