Thread: Single strand vs double

Single strand vs double

From what I see in this forum, most of you prefer single strand raps. Even when the rap is short enough to do it double, you talk about using a biner block and going single strand. Why is this? I've been a climber much longer than I've been a noob canyoneer, and I would have never thought about going single strand. Are there benefits to it or is it just a way to distinguish yourself from the climbers who are too permafried from doing bowls at the top to figure out how to rap single strand?
    You May All Go To Hell And I Will Go To Texas

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Blog Entries
    I dunno about the rest of em, but if the rappel is just 1/2 lengeth of my rope then I'll double strand for sure. It's the easiest, yes it's a bit slower descending but it sure beats biner blocking it and using a pull cord.

If the rappel is longer than 1/2, then the obvious choice is to use a pull cord. But even if I'm a tad short from making it a double strand, then I'll look at my options and try lengthening the webbing and making it a retrievable anchor (unless its a bolted rappel). That's just me though...

I apply the KISS principle

Double strand is usually used on short raps or if an extra rope is above.
    Single strand allows you to have and extra rope for emergencies.

Depends on the person and the situation.
    The man thong is wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Jaxx
    Double strand is usually used on short raps or if an extra rope is above.
    Single strand allows you to have and extra rope for emergencies.

Depends on the person and the situation.