View Poll Results: What should I tell my boss?

Voters
6. You may not vote on this poll
  • Tell him what he wants to hear and go with the Linksys

3 50.00%
  • Tell him what you believe and go with the DD-WRT

3 50.00%

Thread: Anyone Have Work Advice for Me?

Anyone Have Work Advice for Me?

As most of you guys know I do IT for a living. I use and love DD-WRT for routers (it is a linux based firmware which turns your 50 dollar router into a $500 firewall).

I suggested we buy an extra 20 routers for inventory to which we could DD-WRT. My boss doesn't like the idea of buying something cheap (like a Linksys router) for our customers and is much more comfortable with Cisco Aironets. My boss found a medium grade business router which offers many of the features of the DD-WRT routers and wants my opinion on the matter.

I personally prefer the cheaper routers with the linux firmware than the more expensive Cisco routers. I am likely to be alone in my belief here at work and I have concerns of losing credibility by being okay with this over the more expensive, name branded routers.

What should I do?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

And yes I know Cisco owns Linksys.

I would advise spelling "advise" as advice.

Your safety is not my responsibility.

Quote Originally Posted by Deathcricket
    I would advise spelling "advise" as advice.

Oops. Take that DevoStevo! I once again reclaim my own title of being the worst speller on Bogley.

As a client I hate it when the IT guys start doing wierd crap with my routers that only they understand..... I'd go with the standard system the way everyone else in the world does it.

Because what really happens is 5 years down the road I have new IT guys and no one can understand how the system was originally duct taped together and I end up paying more in the long run....

And the hits just keep on coming. Jeeze man, it's not like you spelled it wrong. It's more of a grammar problem. Therefore, nothing has been reinforced.