Thread: Bike comparison question?? I'm a complete noob!

Bike comparison question?? I'm a complete noob!

So here is the deal, I'm heading out on an LDS mission and require a bike. The bike shop in San Antonio has 2 options for missionaries. They are:

1- 2008 raleigh mojave 8.0 with helmet, fenders, lights, and lock for $615
    2- 2009 GT Avalanche 3.0 Disk with same equipment for $450

This bike will be ridden just about everyday, all day, for 2 years. I'm wondering which is the better deal, better bike, better for me?

I'm 6 ft, 175lbs.

Also, I also buy local if I can, so is it worth jumping up to $720 for a Gary Fisher Wahoo with the same extras? I would then have to have it shipped and reassembled in Texas.

I REALLY appreciate the help. I've done all the research I can and would just like some experienced knowledge.

Jaden Cook
    better off outdoors

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

accadacca and I will tell you flat out, it's all about the warranty.

For street riding, suspension may work against you unless you want to play around a bit.

If you know for sure that you'll be riding every day for 2 years, maybe you'll go through 2 bikes no matter what model?

Quote Originally Posted by Sombeech
    price and warranty go right out the window.. it's the geometry you got to look at..

demo the bikes and ride them around a lot, for the kind of riding your going to be doing, you want to be comfortable.

between those two bikes the 2008 raleigh mojave is more of a trick bike and in most cases the seat is meant to be lowered so it can do tricks.

the 2009 GT Avalanche is a much better choice because the rise of the frame in the back is a bit higher..
    Candition.com | Canyon Conditions

<%@me = User.find_by_adventurer(params[:theking648])%>

i'd get one with a motor.

i'll admit i know nothing about missions, but you are doing your mission in texas? aren't there already some young mormon lads in texas? do they do there missions in utah? just curious.