Thread: Man killed in Orem Auto-Pedestrian Accident

Man killed in Orem Auto-Pedestrian Accident

OREM -- An elderly man died Thursday after a truck hit him in an Orem crosswalk.

Police say the 75-year-old man tried to cross 1600 North near 800 West with two women. The driver of a truck made a left-hand turn and hit all three, dragging the man 30 yards.

The two women had minor injuries, but the man was critically injured and died at the hospital.

Police say the driver did not see the pedestrians because of sun in his eyes. The district attorney's office is screening charges against him.

http://www.ksl.com/?nid=148&sid=8900459
    "My heart shall cry out for Moab..." Isaiah 15:5

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I was there on site. It happened on my way to work. I got out and because I used to be a former EMT, I managed the scene until the authorities arrived. There were other witnesses who saw the whole thing better than I did, so I left after the Police took control of the scene.

I have 2 questions:

1)
    What should be done about this? Should the driver go to jail? For how long? etc.

2) I spoke to the driver before the cops arrived. He told me a different reason for the accident happening than the sun being in his eyes (as described by the article). Should I notify the police of his previous statement to me, or is this the sort of thing in which I am always butting in and should butt out?

If my Dad were run over because of another man's carelessness I would want justice though I don't know what justice could make up for these circumstances. If it were my brother driving the car, I would want mercy for him and for things to be as easy as possible as this situation is hard on everyone including the driver.

Quote Originally Posted by DiscGo