Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rappel Device

Rappel Device

Just for fun I took this picture of some of the different rappel devices that were at the last Moab Bogleyfest. Just from observation I'd say 90% of the participants were using an ATC (various models) or a Piranha. At least that is the observation associated with the groups I was with. Our Saturday group had 17 canyoneers ranging in skill from god-like to total noob.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I was suprised how many atc's there were at the fest. I was going to get one of my atc's out so I could fit in. For entertainment, what device do each of you mighty canyoneers use and why?
    I use a pirana. Seems to work for what I need. I like how easy it is to rig and the different friction settings.

Mark

I use ATC's because I like to use them for belaying as well. You can belay with other devices, but I like the ATC. Mine is labeled #1 in the photo.

ATC, i hate the twists from 8's and piranhas.

Mountain Misanthrope ScoutColorado's Avatar
    ATC guide and ATC XT. Simple, no twist
    Mark,
    I brought a Totem for you to play with on Sunday, but your kids got sick.

Pirana.

It is easy to adjust friction settings on the fly. I never mix my climbing and canyoneering gear.

I use a reverso for climbing, but feel the reverso wouldn't hold up as well canyoneering - especially if it was wet and sandy. Any real life experience anyone?

Bruce

I'm an ATC XP user. Tried a Pirana on my last trip, and it was cool, but I've not had a problem getting enough friction, even on single 8mm, with the ATC. I love the thing. I think it's the name.