Thread: Canoe trip Ideas

Canoe trip Ideas

So I am new to the Canoe/Paddling thing (other than going down the Jordan river in a canoe or paddling around flat water lakes and fishing) but would like to do a trip down a river here in Utah next spring? Anyhow I don't need/want much if any whitewater but I would like to take my time going down a river with a few other people and our kids. Looking to do something like 3 nights 4 days on the river.

Anyone have some suggestions or ideas? Spring is not a requirement but figured the higher water would help smooth out some of the rougher areas (I may be wrong with this assumption)..
    Tacoma Said - If Scott he asks you to go on a hike, ask careful questions like "Is it going to be on a trail?" "What are the chances it will kill me?" etc. Maybe "Will there be sack-biting ants along the way?"

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Actually you want to go on lower water times. The beaches are much better and cleaner then and the water is a lot cleaner and not just pure mud.

Your choices are:

1. Labyrinth canyon on the Green River (3-4 days)
    2. Mineral Bottom on the Green River (2-4 days)
    3. Ruby Horse Thief on Colorado River (2 days)
    4. Section A/B/C on the Green River (below the gorge) (2 days)
    5. San Rafael river (not overnight)
    6. Escalante River

You can google all these names and get a ton of information. Also, you can buy river guides for any of the choices above. Most of the water related stores will carry the books. Wasatch touring, Sid's Sports and REI, Walton's Marina.

Hope this helps.

Ya know I have heard there is some good paddling on the Bear river up north. I do not know what is the best time of year but I would be interested in hooking up with you if you do it.
    See you on the Trail

Green or Colorado