Thread: Birch Hollow Conditions

Birch Hollow Conditions

I am planning on heading up to birch this weekend has anyone been up there or know what the conditions of the canyon are. I have never done this canyon before and i want to do something new and i don't feel like getting or dealing with permits. Any news would be appreciated
    IT ALWAYS LOOKS HIGHER FROM THE TOP!!!!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

We did Birch 2 weeks ago. There are a couple of small pools (~3-5') at the bottom of rappels, otherwise it's dry, there's really nowhere to hold water. All of the anchors were solid and webbing was in good condition.

Zions the "s" is silent trackrunner's Avatar
    reports yahoo canyons forum from this weekend states mud in the upper section brutal sun hike out up orderville.

edit: forgot the source. from bushwaker via Ram over on canyons yahoo group

link

When you park your shuttle go down past the cooral The trail is pretty decent. Save a long hike out.
    Don`t be afraid your life will end be afraid it will never begin fear is the thief of all dreams...

cool thanks we were planning on hiking up wild wind canyon do you guys think this will be a mistake or should we just exit all the way up ordervile.

also if we park past the corral do we still walk down N F R to the drainage then enter or is there a spot right by the corral to enter the canyon.

Content Provider Emeritus ratagonia's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Pubalz
    When you park your shuttle go down past the cooral The trail is pretty decent. Save a long hike out.
    Uh, WITH a capable vehicle. There are one or two spots that are steepish uphill with rocks and difficulties, and a place that is quite narrow and your right side is likely to fall into the rut.

Your mom's Subaru will not like it. Big tires and real 4WD will make it fairly casual, but, for instance, JZ's Fourrunner with standard tires struggled with it.

Tom

Quote Originally Posted by canyonguru