Thread: Picking Canyoneering Partners

Picking Canyoneering Partners

Quote Originally Posted by rcwild
    People should start using this scenario for screening partners. If they say they would go for help ... look for a different partner.
    At first I took this comment from the Zion Accident thread as Rich being Rich.... but than I gave it some more thought..... How do people pick partners?

I really don't have much of a criteria for picking partners.... My usual method is.... will the person be fun to canyon with and will that persons personality fit in well with the rest of the group.

Outside of that I really don't vet my partners. If I'm doing a route I consider extremely difficult I will try to add at least one young 5.14 rope gun type to the mix but that's about it.

So.... how do you pick your partners? What do you look for?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

I'm new at this so I'm in the 'beg to be allowed to tag along' mode.

More of Rich being Rich ...

People are taking their partner selection way too casually. Meet on the internet and trust everything they tell you about their experience as fact? Only screening questions involve who is bringing the rope and who is bringing the beer? While these are both very important criteria, shouldn't we also be asking questions like:

How are your anchor-building skills?

How are your rigging skills? What are your preferences? Toss 'n go only? Do you use blocks or releasable systems?

Rappelling skills? This one includes a 300-footer. Do you have experience with long rappels? What diameter of rope are we bringing? 8mm?? Do you have experience rapping on skinny rope?

Do you have basic self-rescue skills? Can you lock off mid rappel? Do you know how to rig a footloop to free stuck gear?

How are your rescue skills? First aid skills? Are you brining a first aid kit?

How are your navigation skills? GPS? Map and compass?

Etc. Etc. Etc.