Thread: newb DSLR owner

newb DSLR owner

I only ever come to the darkroom to sneak a look at the great pictures. Im awlays in awe

I've always been intimidated by slr cameras, they seem way out of my league but I lucked into one at a salvage auction last week . Kirk showed me how to turn it on and guided me to a lens to get started. Now I am studying and trying to learn how to use this thing and finding out how much it costs to join this hobby .

All the posts with instruction and advise have been helpful, so thanks And keep the great pictures coming, they are an inspiration. Maybe someday I'll luck into some of my own worthy of posting here

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Good luck with it Which one did ya get?

I am with you on being a newb with the SLRs. I figure I am at least a year away from really knowing how to use it properly.

Quote Originally Posted by JP
    Which one did ya get?
    It is a Nikon D2x, came with everything in the original box (so cheap I feel bad about mentioning it). I bought a 50mm f/1.8 af lens and a 2 gig card to get started taking pictures. Looking at other lenses but not sure what to get next. What do you think? I'm also trying to make it to a class at Picturline tomorrow.

Crazy thing is I just bought a new Olympus point and click a few weeks ago because my old one was worn out

I'm spending 10 days camping on the Blue mountains and surrounding country (southeast Utah) starting this Friday and would love to be able to get some good pictures. I'll just take a lot and hope for the best

Ten days with a 2 gig card? man... i burn through 2 gigs in 2 or 3 slot canyons.... but i do take a TON of pictures...
    "Human beings were not meant to sit in little cubicles staring at computer screens all day, filling out useless forms and listening to eight different bosses drone on about mission statements"

Peter Gibbons - Office Space

Quote Originally Posted by DWayne27